COUNCIL

Wednesday, 22nd November, 2017 Time of Commencement: 7.00 pm

Present:- The Mayor Councillor Simon White – in the Chair

Councillors:

Allport Bailey Beech Bloor **Burgess** Cooper Miss J Cooper Dillon Dymond Eagles Fear Frankish Gardner L Hailstones P Hailstones S Hambleton Harper Heesom Holland Huckfield Johnson

Northcott Olszewski Owen Panter Parker Pickup Reddish Robinson Rout Shenton Snell Spence Stubbs Sweeney J Tagg S Tagg Turner Waring G White Wilkes **G** Williams J Williams Winfield Wina Woolley Wright

Matthews Naylon

Jones

Kearon

Loades

Mancey

Officers Executive Director (Operational Services) - David Adams,

Executive Director (Regeneration and Development) - Neale Clifton,

Geoff Durham - Member Training and Development Officer,

Phil Jones - Head of Communications, Chief Executive - John Sellgren and

Executive Director (Resources and Support Services) - Kelvin Turner

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors' Astle, Proctor, Simpson and Walklate.

2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest stated.

3. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

The Special Meeting had been called in respect of conferring honorary Freedom of the Borough upon Gordon Banks OBE.

Councillor Turner stated that Gordon's achievements both in his footballing and his charity work should be recognised. He had won 73 England Caps and was regarded as one of the best goalkeepers of all time. Gordon had also been awarded the OBE for his achievements.

Members agreed with Councillor Turner's comments, adding that Gordon was a very worthwhile recipient and that this was long overdue.

Resolved:

"That the Council, in exercise of their powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act, 1972 and being desirous of expressing its admiration and appreciation of the long and eminent service given by Gordon Banks OBE to national and international football and his ongoing support to a range of charitable causes and as a mark of esteem does confer upon him the honorary **FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH**"

THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR SIMON WHITE Chair

Meeting concluded at 7.15 pm